This article is also available in:
Managing OTA bookings

There are many different ways on receiving bookings whether it be via the Booking Engine, or directly added to the PMS. OTA's (Online Travel Agencies) can provide you with a nice amount of bookings. The managing of these reservations work a little differently than bookings made via your Booking Engine or added in to the PMS directly. The reason for this is because information is stored in the Extranet of the channel too. So if information is updated on that side, it overrides the reservation in RoomRaccoon, including any changes you may have made to the reservation in RoomRaccoon. To prevent that, some fields are disabled with OTA bookings only.

Disable check-in and check-out fields when from a channel.
If the reservation needs to be shortened in stay, this needs to be done in the channel directly. If they want to extend their stay, this can be done in RoomRaccoon via the 'extend stay' button. This will allow you to make a linked reservation, extending the stay with the same rate type as the old reservation. By doing it via RoomRaccoon, you will not have to pay extra commission on those extra days as it will be registered under a new reservation number



When a booking from a channel reservation is upgraded to a different room type by the hotelier or staff, we will have to have a big warning that it is a different room/rate type.
Upgrades are great and should always be possible. That is why this is not restricted when it is regarding a channel booking, but we do hand out a warning that if an update is done on the channels side the upgrade will be overwritten back to the old state. The reason for this, is because the upgrade is given in RoomRaccoon but at the channels side the old information is still known.



The reservation timeline will turn orange when change in room type is given in channel bookings.
In the reservation timeline, you will see in orange that a booking is upgraded to a different room. This will also indicate that the upgrade was given and also excepted by the hotelier or one of your employees.

What happens when you move an OTA reservation to a different room type?
In general, room type changes should be done in the extranet of the booking channel itself. Changes will then be imported into RoomRaccoon. What happens if you move an OTA booking to a different room type in Roomraccoon is the following:
Imagine you have two rooms with each a different room type: A single room and a double room. You then get a reservation from booking.com for the single room. You want to give this guest an upgrade to the double room and move the reservation. You will get a warning because this brings in the risk of being overbooked. Why? Imagine the following: Your single room now gets booked again, this is possible because it was not blocked anymore in the agenda. When the guest who booked the single room in the first place cancels his booking, booking.com thinks that this room is available and will try to sell it even though meanwhile another reservation was made for this single room. And this is where it can go wrong and why RoomRaccoon warns you when moving OTA bookings.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!